Faculty Council


The Faculty Council is the representative body for the faculty of the College of Public Health and Health Professions and serves as a forum for the mutual exchange of ideas between college administrators and the faculty. It develops and makes policy recommendations on the following:

1. The educational, research and service missions of the college

2. Shared governance

3. Faculty awards

4. Faculty welfare, including the working environment and matters of quality of life

5. Resource allocation

6. The college strategic plan

7. Other issues of concern to college faculty

The Council also coordinates and communicates deadlines for college standing committee elections, including the Faculty Council itself, and has responsibility for ensuring that elections take place. Additionally, the Council may request performance reviews of the dean and department chairs according to college and UF policy.


2023-2024 Faculty Council

Afsar Ali (EGH): Term ends June 2026

Laurie Gauger (SLHS): Term ends June 2026

Heidi Horwitz (OT): Term ends June 2025

Caleb Huo (BIO): Term ends, June 2026

Lindsey King (HSRMP): Term ends June 2024

Kimberly Driscoll (CHP): Term ends June 2026

Barbara Smith, (PT): Term ends June 2024

Yan Wang, CHAIR (EPI): Term ends June 2024

Faculty Council representatives can serve 2 consecutive 3-year terms.


2023-2024 Meeting dates

Meeting dates and times are the 4th Friday of each month at 3:00 pm.